>Johnson eager to wing in for England

>Original Article
“Manchester City winger Adam Johnson insists he is ready to step up to the full England squad after coach Fabio Capello stated he is in line for some “international experience”.

Adam Johnson, Manchester City

GettyImagesAdam Johnson: Joined City from Boro

With David Beckham injured, Aaron Lennon yet to play in 2010 and both Theo Walcott and Shaun Wright-Phillips struggling for form and playing time, Johnson has emerged as a serious contender for the plane to South Africa.
Johnson, who only joined City on transfer deadline day at the start of February in an £8 million deal from Middlesbrough, has been a revelation at Eastlands and is now most people’s pick to ghost into the squad with a late run of form.
Johnson said: “I’d like to think I’m confident enough to take the step up to England if I get the chance.
“The comments he [Capello] has made about me have been fantastic and have given me another boost. Now I’ve got a big game on Saturday against Manchester United to try and justify his praise.
“I’ve come to City and settled well, but going to England is a different thing. The World Cup is a one-off tournament, but I still like to think I could go there and do well.
“I hope I don’t have to book any holidays and I won’t be booking any. I’m usually last minute with everything anyway, but if I get the chance to go to the World Cup, then my holidays can wait a year.
“I’ve just got to maintain my form, keep playing well, and the better I play, the more chance I will give myself.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Pub Sports

Leave a Reply

